SafeRx Regional Collaborative

In February 2018, six counties in Northeast Ohio (Cuyahoga, Medina, Portage, Stark, Summit & Wayne Counties) came together to create a regional collaborative which develops & shares resources in order to promote safe medicine usage, storage & disposal in Northeast Ohio. In September 2018, Geauga County joined the collaborative. Collectively, these counties share more than 25% of Ohio residents and dispense more than 100 million opioid doses annually.

Every Ohio community has been affected

Safe Medicine Disposal Makes a Difference

More than two-thirds (70 percent) of people who misuse prescription painkillers for the first time report obtaining the drugs from friends or relatives, including from the home medicine cabinet.

  • 2,500 free drug disposal pouches distributed
    Up to 112,500 Rx pills safely disposed.
  • $10,000 value

Reducing access to a substance is an evidence-based strategy to prevent misuse & abuse.  

In October 2018, the SafeRx Regional Collaborative received a donation of 14,000 drug deactivation pouches from the Rx Abuse Leadership Initiative.  These pouches have the capacity to safely deactivate 630,000 pills!   The SafeRx Regional Collaborative is grateful to the Rx Abuse Leadership Initiative for their generous donation and work to prevent opiate addiction in Ohio.  The SafeRx Regional Collaborative also receives funding from Prevention Action Alliance & the Ohio Department of Mental Health & Addiction Services.